Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Itty Bitty Little Titty Piece

Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Itty Bitty Little Titty Piece

To find out more about Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 and the spotlights, please see the introductory article.


Next up in our Spotlight feature is Itty Bitty Little Titty Piece, which plays Edinburgh Festival from 3 – 27 August 2017. I caught up with writer and actor Patrick Turpin:

Describe your show in three words.

On At Night.

Is this your first Edinburgh Fringe performance experience?

No – this is my third solo show, and my eighth year in total.  I first came to Edinburgh in 2008 with my student sketch group. I’ve been shovelling bits of dung to-and-fro (London <-> Edinburgh) ever since… I feel as though in the last two years I’ve finally learnt how to show people a good time (on and off stage).

Who else are you most looking forward to seeing while at the Fringe?

Paul Williams, Jack Barry, Kiri Pritchard-McLean, Jack Rooke, Mae Martin and Fin Taylor.

How do you feel to be performing at Underbelly Cowgate?

I’m excited about performing at Underbelly Cowgate. It’s got a great atmosphere – so being there late-night will be a lot of fun. Also, I’m excited to have access to The Blissful Teet (the Underbelly performers’ bar)!

Who or what are your inspirations?

I’m inspired and energised by my ongoing fear of failure, a love of all vices (great and small), and the desire to one day own a luxury yacht in Porto Montenegro.

What is your secret to surviving the intense, fast pace of the fringe?

I don’t keep secrets…

What are the future plans for your show?

I’ll probably do a few London dates. Film the show for all the friends that ‘missed’ it when it was on. And then finally send a few unanswered emails about it, to cap off the run.

What is the best production you have seen this year – can be any genre, style, in any theatre or performance space?

Last Edinburgh, I went to see Cirque Du Sandwich at the Assembly Rooms. It was a gender-bending, trouser-lending, postcard-sending, television-mending, genre-blending triumph!

Is there anything else you want to highlight about your show/ theatre company/ production?

I would like to highlight the fact that Live Nation is the world’s largest events management company. If that isn’t a seal-of-approval, then you can S my Bs.

 

Writer: Patrick Turpin

Director: Lou Sanders

Producer: Live Nation

Cast: Patrick Turpin

Itty Bitty Little Titty Piece plays Underbelly Cowgate as part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 from 3 – 27 August 2017. For more information or to book tickets, please visit the website.