Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: DuBois Entendre

Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: DuBois Entendre

To find out more about Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 and the spotlights, please see the introductory article.


Next up in our Spotlight feature is DuBois Entendre, which plays Edinburgh Festival from 3 – 26 August 2017. I caught up with writer and actor Myra DuBois:

Describe your show in three words.

Really rather good.

Is this your first Edinburgh Fringe performance experience?

It is not, I was here last year with my debut one woman show Self AdMyra. DuBois Entendre is really the difficult ‘Second Album’ but I’ve a terrific feeling in my waters! And I don’t think it’s the gin, though it might be…

Who else are you most looking forward to seeing while at the Fringe?

Out of sheer morbid curiosity, Frank Lavender (Fragile Masculinity) who I notice is at the Counting House at the Attic, a world away from my lovely big Ballroom, at 16.50. I know Frank from Rotherham and his presence on the Fringe should be… ‘interesting’.

How do you feel to be performing at the Counting House?

I’m thrilled, actually! The Ballroom at the Counting House has become something of a legendary venue at the fringe and everyone I’ve mentioned my room too has said “Oooh, good for you!”. I’ve been in the room many times as a punter; I look forward to seeing it from the other side.

Who or what are your inspirations?

Money is a big motivation. I jest! Not that it isn’t a motivation, but it’s not to be had at the Fringe really is it? I think it’s more to do with being even a small muscle in the giant living organism that is the Edinburgh Fringe. It’s fun to live and breath your own industry for a month if you love your vocation in life

What is your secret to surviving the intense, fast pace of the fringe?

Salt’n’soss on chips, sausages, in cups of tea, as shampoo. Salt’n’soss everywhere.

What are the future plans for your show?

As with Self AdMyra, a UK tour and a London run would be just lovely.

What is the best production you have seen this year – can be any genre, style, in any theatre or performance space?

Cinderella at the London Palladium was magical. I love panto, and it didn’t disappoint!

Is there anything else you want to highlight about your show/ theatre company/ production?

It’s free.

 

Writer: Gareth Joyner; Mura DuBois

Director: Gareth Joyner

Producer: So Comedy

Cast: Myra DuBois

DuBois Entendre plays The Counting House as part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 from 3 – 26 August 2017. For more information or to book tickets, please visit the website.

