Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: How To Not Kill Yourself For 30 Days…And The Next 330

Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: How To Not Kill Yourself For 30 Days…And The Next 330

To find out more about Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 and the spotlights, please see the introductory article.


Next up in our Spotlight feature is How To Not Kill Yourself For 30 Days…And The Next 330, which plays Edinburgh Festival from 2 – 27 August 2017. I caught up with writer and actor Annie Sertich:

Describe your show in three words.

Funny. Unpredictable. Pudding.

Is this your first Edinburgh Fringe performance experience?

Yes – is ‘vomit-y’ a word?

Who else are you most looking forward to seeing while at the Fringe?

Jenny Bede‘s Eggtime, other improv acts like Austentatious, and quite frankly I’m so excited to discover new stuff.

How do you feel to be performing at Pleasance Courtyard?

Honoured and humbled to be performing with such greats, past and present.

Who or what are your inspirations?

I think live theatre can be one of our purest forms of storytelling and when it works, time stops. For the actors and the audience. I chase that feeling. My technical devices can’t get me closer to anyone, really. Theatre can.  Good or bad. And I think now is the time we need connection more than ever.

What is your secret to surviving the intense, fast pace of the fringe?

Being a fringe virgin, I don’t know! A local masseuse and therapist?  DM me any ideas!

What are the future plans for your show?

I’ve recently written a television pilot based on the show that my team and I are very excited about. In addition to pursuing that, I’d love to continue to perform the stage show anywhere and for anyone who will have me!

What is the best production you have seen this year – can be any genre, style, in any theatre or performance space?

People, Places, and Things blew me out of the f’in water last fall. Denise Gough crawled outside her skin and into all of us that night. Incredible! (Also Handmaid’s Tale on Hulu. The end). 

Is there anything else you want to highlight about your show/ theatre company/ production?

My show has an ending you can’t predict, truly. It’s 100% true. I’m also a nervous flyer and take what I call #flightdrugs to fly. So flying this far is waaaay outside my comfort zone. Here goes nothing! 

 

Writer: Annie Sertich

Director: Michaela Watkins

Producer: Kilimanjaro Live

Cast: Annie Sertich

How To Not Kill Yourself For 30 Days…And The Next 330 plays Pleasance Courtyard as part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 from 2 – 27 August 2017. For more information or to book tickets, please visit the website.

Leave a Reply

