Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Amy Conway’s Super Awesome World

Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Amy Conway’s Super Awesome World

To find out more about Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 and the spotlights, please see the introductory article.


Next up in our Spotlight feature is Amy Conway’s Super Awesome World, which plays Edinburgh Festival from 2 – 27 August 2017. I caught up with writer and actor Amy Conway:

Describe your show in three words.

Powerful. Dark. Fun.

Is this your first Edinburgh Fringe performance experience?

Even though I’ve performed at eight previous fringes, this is the first time I’m bringing my own work.  So I feel like it’s the first day at school.  Terrified and excited.

Who else are you most looking forward to seeing while at the Fringe?

EatenMamoru Iriguchi – I saw a scratch of theeshow earlier this year, and loved his show (Autopsy Award winner) 4D Cinema last year.  I find his work really wonderful, absurd, surreal and beautiful. And he is a lovely man.

Locker Room Talk, Gary McNair – Again I really like Gary’s work, I enjoyed his last show (A Gambler’s Guide to Dying). The subject matter of this new work is really provocative, and I would like to see what he does with it.

Two Man Show, Rash Dash Theatre – I missed this show last year, I heard so much about it and about Rash Dash the company.

How do you feel to be performing at Summerhall?

Summerhall is always my favourite venue as an audience member.  I always see the best work there and I am delighted to be included in such an exciting arts programme.

Who or what are your inspirations?

My peers inspire me – I’m based in Glasgow and there is a great supportive artistic community there. I am also inspired by other art forms such as dance, TV, film, I try to find inspiration wherever I can. There are a million and one ways to be creative, especially in the current social media environment. For example I am sharing one Instagram photo a day for a year, after seeing all the beautiful images that friends of mine were sharing through the same project last year.

What is your secret to surviving the intense, fast pace of the fringe?

I try to have a dedicated amount of time out of the fringe environment – I ride my bike, go into green spaces, rest well (or as well as I can!) and get some sunlight to counteract being in a dark room for a big chunk of the day.

What are the future plans for your show?

We would love to tour the show and share the underlying message of support for people with mental health issues.  We are also beginning to develop a educational package to go alongside the show so we can reach a more varied and complete audience.

What is the best production you have seen this year – can be any genre, style, in any theatre or performance space?

Blow Off at The Tron Theatre in Glasgow. Gig theatre is very fashionable right now but this felt completely extraordinary and genre defining.  It expressed the anger that I felt towards the patriarchy through music perfectly, but without being preachy.

Is there anything else you want to highlight about your show/ theatre company/ production?

This is a show about depression, but it is a fun show about depression.  We truly believe that gaming (any gaming) can aid your mental health, and that there are support systems out there like the Samaritans who feature heavily in the show.

 

Writer: Amy Conway; Rob Jones

Director: Rob Jones

Producer: RiotBox Productions

Cast: Amy Conway

Amy Conway’s Super Awesome World plays Summerhall as part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 from 2 – 27 August 2017. For more information or to book tickets, please visit the website.

Leave a Reply

