Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Good Girl

Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Good Girl

To find out more about Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 and the spotlights, please see the introductory article.


Next up in our Spotlight feature is Good Girl, which plays Edinburgh Festival from 3 – 27 August 2017. I caught up with writer and actor Naomi Sheldon:

Describe your show in three words.

Explosive, joyful, funny.

Is this your first Edinburgh Fringe performance experience?

Sort of! I did a university production of a Shakespeare set in a jazz club many years ago. But this is my first solo experience.

I’m experiencing that fine line between terror and excitement. I feel like I’ve been training for a marathon but I’ve no idea what the terrain is I’m going to be running on. You know?

Who else are you most looking forward to seeing while at the Fringe?

Rebecca Humphries’ brilliant musical Prom Kween, Martin Murphy’s dark and funny Victim, David Elm’s quirky Siren and all the shows that the talented lot from The Free Association will be taking up.

How do you feel to be performing at Just The Tonic?

Really honoured actually. Just the Tonic is a great comedy venue and The Attic is such an intimate space – perfect for storytelling. I can’t wait to be able to connect with my audience in that belly of a ship sort of space. It’ll be cosy and intense.

Who or what are your inspirations?

Watching shows like Bridget Christie’s Because you Demanded it (It was still called Mortal at the time) gave me the energy and bravery to just go bugger it, I’m going to write about what I’m passionate about. People like Charlotte Josephine and Michaela Coel have inspired me – women who are making the work they want to be part of. I feel part of a fresh bold push of women carving out their own space in the industry.

What is your secret to surviving the intense, fast pace of the fringe?

I mean I don’t have an answer to that yet…but I imagine it’ll be eating greens, deep breaths and hanging out with brilliant people are also making their own work. Oh and not giving two flips about the reviews. You’ll have to check in with me in September and see if my survival techniques worked.

What are the future plans for your show?

I’d love to take it to London after the Fringe and to develop it into a longer piece. It’s quite a filmic story so I’d be interested to see how it could transfer to screen.

What is the best production you have seen this year – can be any genre, style, in any theatre or performance space?

It divided audiences but I loved The Kid Stays In The Picture at The Royal Court. I love that sort of theatre – so imaginative and engrossing. Brilliant storytelling. I also adored Charlotte Josephine’s Blush during her Soho Theatre run. Such energy and power.

Is there anything else you want to highlight about your show/ theatre company/ production?

The show feels particularly relevant at the moment. With you-know-who heading the most powerful country in the world and an internet culture of shouting down women it feels more important than ever to have female experiences heard. Good Girl looks at what can happen when women self-silence to fit in with what is expected of them. When a powerful woman is a ‘nasty woman’ it’s vital to have an antidote of frank female voices speaking openly.  Also- we are a husband and wife team. It’s the first time we’ve worked together in this capacity and it’s been great

 

Writer: Naomi Sheldon

Director: Matt Peover

Producer: Old Red Lion and Bruised Sky Productions

Cast: Naomi Sheldon

Good Girl plays Just The Tonic at The Mash House as part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 from 3 – 27 August 2017. For more information or to book tickets, please visit the website.

One thought on “Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Good Girl

Comments are closed.