Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Scribble

Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Scribble

To find out more about Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 and the spotlights, please see the introductory article.


Next up in our Spotlight feature is Scribble, which plays Edinburgh Festival from 3 – 27 August 2017. I caught up with director Amy Gilmartin:

Describe your show in three words.

Cereal, Anxiety & Gravity

Is this your first Edinburgh Fringe performance experience?

I’ve been involved in productions at the Edinburgh Fringe for the past 5 years, although Scribble is our first production as a team.  I’m a co-artistic director of Edinburgh based theatre company Urban Fox Theatre and we have presented 3 productions at the Fringe in 2013, 2014 and 2015.  Last year I received a JMK bursary to assist Orla O’Loughlin on Milk at the Traverse Theatre. I learn so much every time I return to the Fringe, bringing my own work, assisting other directors and see other’s people work.

Who else are you most looking forward to seeing while at the Fringe?

There’s lots of exciting sounding work coming to the Fringe this year, it’s hard to narrow down my list!  I’m very excited to be at Assembly this year with such an excellent programme.  I simply loved Hot Brown Honey last year and I’m looking forward to sharing a building with them this year.

How do you feel to be performing at Assembly Roxy?

As the first Assembly Roxy Theatre (ART) winner, we’ve been so supported at Assembly, given advice, guidance and generally made to feel really welcomed.  We’re so grateful to be selected by them and hope to do them proud.  It’s a great space and we’re looking forward to performing there.

Who or what are your inspirations?

I’m generally really inspired by the work being made in Scotland at the moment, there’s lots of new writing, co-productions, mixing and expanding of form.  I’m a big theatre geek and see as much theatre as I can, it keeps me inspired, keeps me wanting to make work.

What is your secret to surviving the intense, fast pace of the fringe?

Practical shoes, lots of coffee, a packaway rain jacket and good lip colour.

What are the future plans for your show?

I hope there’s a future for the show, we’re currently allowing ourselves to dream to what that future might be…

What is the best production you have seen this year – can be any genre, style, in any theatre or performance space?

My favourite production this year so far is Charlie Sonata by Douglas Maxwell, directed by Matthew Lenton at the Lyceum Theatre in April and May – it was simply stunning, heart breaking and incredibly emotional. I haven’t been able to get it of my mind since I saw it and found the whole production inspiring as an emerging theatre maker.

Is there anything else you want to highlight about your show/ theatre company/ production?

Scribble is a conversation between two people, a conversation we keep having, a conversation about cereal, anxiety and gravity.  The work won’t be finished, we are endeavouring to keep it live, different every day and it’s important that it’s about our mental health today.  We have a great performer in Alan MacKenzie, and he’ll be joined by a different actor each performance who will be reading the script unseen, bringing their experiences and personality to the performance, making it a completely unique performance for the audience

 

Writer/ Producer: Andy Edwards

Director/ Producer: Amy Gilmartin

Producer: Rachel D’Arcy

Design: Jenny Booth; Blair Coron (music & sound)

Cast: Alan MacKenzie

Scribble plays Assembly Roxy as part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 from 3 – 27 August 2017. For more information or to book tickets, please visit the website.

