Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Sugar Baby

Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Sugar Baby

To find out more about Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 and the spotlights, please see the introductory article.


Next up in our Spotlight feature is Sugar Baby, which plays Edinburgh Festival from 4 – 27 August 2017. I caught up with writer Alan Harris:

Describe your show in three words.

Definitely not boring.

Is this your first Edinburgh Fringe performance experience?

No, it’s not. Paines Plough produced my Love, Lies and Taxidermy last year and also, a few years ago, liveartshow staged The Future For Beginners (also at Summerhall).

Who else are you most looking forward to seeing while at the Fringe?

One of my favourite writers, Douglas Maxwell, has The Whip Hand at the Traverse Theatre.

Also, Martin Creed’s Words and Music should be interesting. Richard Gadd’s Monkey See Monkey Do has been recommended to me. Summerhall is good for those slightly “random” shows.

How do you feel to be performing at Summerhall?

Bloody amazing –  I love Roundabout. It’s a such a cool, truly democratic space. I also love Summerhall – if that was the whole festival it would still be cracking.

Who or what are your inspirations?

I’m eclectic when it comes to influences – it’s great when you see a play and you think: “I wish I’d written that.” It happened to me in the Fringe when I saw Enda Walsh’s The Walworth Farce.

What is your secret to surviving the intense, fast pace of the fringe?

Depends on how long you are there for. If you are there for just a couple of days I have no advice – you are just going to have to go for it. For a longer stay: eat well.

What are the future plans for your show?

Don’t know yet – be great for it to have a future life. But… that’s to be seen. I’d like to watch it while sipping a cocktail in Hong Kong.

What is the best production you have seen this year – can be any genre, style, in any theatre or performance space?

Fullfilment Centre at Manhattan Theatre Club – again, one of those plays I immediately thought: wish I’d written that. Great storytelling, great acting

Is there anything else you want to highlight about your show/ theatre company/ production?

We are part of this year’s Wales In Edinburgh: Eight shows from all sorts of companies and disciplines throughout the festival.

 

Writer: Alan Harris

Director: Catherine Paskell

Producer: Dirty Protest

Design: Dan Lawrence (sound); Ace McCarron (lighting)

Cast: Alex Griffin-Griffiths

Sugar Baby plays Summerhall as part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 from 4 – 27 August 2017. For more information or to book tickets, please visit the website.

One thought on “Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Sugar Baby

Comments are closed.