Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Sitzpinkler

Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Sitzpinkler

To find out more about Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 and the spotlights, please see the introductory article.


Next up in our Spotlight feature is Sitzpinkler, which plays Edinburgh Festival from 3 – 27 August 2017. I caught up with writer and actor Kieran Boyd:

Describe your show in three words.

Worry, wee, jokes.

Is this your first Edinburgh Fringe performance experience?

This is my 11th Fringe in 12 years – I performed with my sketch outfit WitTank between 2006 – 2014, and have also performed solo stand up at the fringe between 2009 – 2013. In 2016 I debuted my first solo hour, so this is number two!

Who else are you most looking forward to seeing while at the Fringe?

Too many to list them all but I’d recommend Naz Osmanoglu, Tom Houghton (Class Half Empty), Notflix… Also looking forward to seeing Mat Ewins.

How do you feel to be performing at Just The Tonic?

It may be a tiny little attic, but it’s bigger than last year’s tiny little attic, so it should be fun.

Who or what are your inspirations?

Who: the many dear friends I have up at the festival. What: Red Bull.

What is your secret to surviving the intense, fast pace of the fringe?

I’m trying to keep calm and not worry too much – which is partly what the show is about – so do that. Worst case scenario is you’ll have a pretty good time.

What are the future plans for your show?

I’d like to take it on tour and then just live the sweet life by selling a tonne of merch. Or something.

What is the best production you have seen this year – can be any genre, style, in any theatre or performance space?

Andrew Scott’s Hamlet. I bet all the comedians say that. Also saw my postman body-popping the other week, he wasn’t half bad.

Is there anything else you want to highlight about your show/ theatre company/ production?

Yes – come and check it out because it’s real funny and I’m a great guy and put money in the bucket afterwards so that I can buy more Red Bull.

 

Writer: Kieran Boyd

Cast: Kieran Boyd

Sitzpinkler plays Just The Tonic as part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 from 3 – 27 August 2017. For more information or to book tickets, please visit the website.

