Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Blueswater Presents Cat Loud

Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Blueswater Presents Cat Loud

To find out more about Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 and the spotlights, please see the introductory article.


Next up in our Spotlight feature is Blueswater Presents: Cat Loud, which plays Edinburgh Festival from 4 – 25 August 2017. I caught up with writer and performer Cat Loud:

Describe your show in three words.

Comedic Ennui & Songs.

Is this your first Edinburgh Fringe performance experience?

I came to the Fringe for the first time to perform in 2008 with a student production of Debbie Horsfield’s True Dare Kiss, and I’ve been finding excuses to come back ever since. Next August will be my 10-year Fringiversary.  I’d like a parade of some kind, please. I brought my first solo cabaret show Cat Loud’s Big Night In to Edinburgh in 2015, first performed with The Blueswater in 2016 with Cat Loud’s Wayward Girls, and I’m back with pianist Rob for a revamped version of the show this year.

Who else are you most looking forward to seeing while at the Fringe?

I’ve never seen such a packed Cabaret section in the Fringe guide, and it makes me very happy, so I have a list of cabaret I want to see that’s as long as my arm, with some theatre wild cards thrown in. I’ll start, as always, with Camille O’Sullivan (Where Are We Now?). She’s not called Queen of the Fringe for nothing, and is one of my biggest inspirations. As a singer and a lyric storyteller, she’s absolutely unbeatable.

I’m excited to see Anya Anastasia (Rogue Romantic) for the first time, Hot Brown Honey who absolutely taught us all how it’s done last year, and Jagged Little Singalong, the Alanis Morrisette tribute act I didn’t know I needed.  I’m also looking forward to seeing what japes Gary Lamont (Dropping The Soap) has been up to since last year, BoonDog Theatre’s Goody is on the cards, Charlie V Martin is a very funny lady, and Holly Morgan’s Seven Crazy Bitches is in my diary.

I may be biased because I met Holly at VAULT Festival in London this January after perhaps the most stressful show of my entire career (I’ll tell you all about it if you ask me), and she’s been my cabaret wife ever since. She is undoubtedly one of the funniest performers I’ve ever seen.  Also, my friends who are performing under The Blueswater Presents umbrella make up an impressive ten-show programme this year, and they’re all going to be stellar. They’re the hardest-working band at the Fringe, after all. 

How do you feel to be performing at SpaceTriplex?

It’s going to be lovely to be back at theSpace. The Blueswater are taking over Triplex this year, and I’m looking forward to it being one big, rambunctious, noisy house.

Who or what are your inspirations?

I think that part of what I always aim to do is find common ground with people, especially when it comes to laughing at our ridiculous world and all the clowns in it, me included. I think I’m just a clown who can sing, and I hope that my little songbook can be a soundtrack of sorts to make sense of the low and high points we find ourselves in.

What is your secret to surviving the intense, fast pace of the fringe?

Support the shows you know, and take chances on the shows you don’t. Sleep in if you don’t have to be up early. Keep telling yourself beer is medicinal, but not a substitute for a hearty meal. Spend some time and money in local bars and shops as a thank you for hosting us.  Flyer in short bursts or on rotation if you’ve got lots of bodies in your company; it’ll save your voices and enthusiasm, and both are vital if you’re performing for the whole month. Get out of Edinburgh for a breather if you can; the beach is just down the road so go and put your feet in the sea for goodness sake.

What are the future plans for your show?

I hope I can continue to work with talented musicians I respect, and keep finding topics and issues to dig deep into. I’ve never performed outside the UK, so I would love to take the show to cabaret and fringe festivals further afield. There are so many international communities to get stuck into, and it would be so interesting to see how the show could develop. It’s about being from a small place and moving to a big city, but the scope could be so much greater and the sound more varied if I expand it globally, build a repertoire and keep growing as a performer.

What is the best production you have seen this year – can be any genre, style, in any theatre or performance space?

The day of the general election results was my birthday and so to soothe my soul, I had an amazing day on the Southbank with my friends topped off with Twelfth Night at The Globe.  I ate wine gums for dinner and didn’t take my eyes off the stage once. It was tender and hilarious, and it made a 400 year-old play feel like a classic British comedy sitcom. It’s one of my greatest hopes that Emma Rice continues to work on monumental texts such as those by Shakespeare with cabaret-crossover artists like Le Gateau Chocolat, because the end results are pure magic.

 

Writer: Cat Loud

Producer: Cat Loud and The Blueswater

Cast: Cat Loud

Cat Loud plays SpaceTriplex as part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 from 4 – 25 August 2017. For more information or to book tickets, please visit the website.

