Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Act Natural

Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Act Natural

To find out more about Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 and the spotlights, please see the introductory article.


Next up in our Spotlight feature is Act Natural, which plays Edinburgh Festival from 2 – 27 August 2017. I caught up with comedian Jon Pointing:

Is this your first Edinburgh Fringe performance experience?

I wrote a play and took that up in 2010 directed by my sister Clare Eales-White and co starring Ed Eales-White (brother in law) and David Persiva. Then I shared an hour with Kat Bond in 2014, we did characters and sketches and it was weird but great. Then 2015 me and Ed Eales-White formed our sketch duo Bucket and we took that to The Pleasance which went down really well.

Who else are you most looking forward to seeing while at the Fringe?

I try and wait until I’m up there and rely on other people for most of my recommendations. There’s obviously loads of good comedy new and old, you know all of them already.

I’m looking forward to Mae Martin (Dope), Phil Dunning (The House of Pigs), very excited to see Nick Coyle’s new show (Queen of Wolves). I’m biased but Fight in The Dog have a really interesting mix of shows and I’ve seen bit’s of Phoebe Walsh’s (I’ll Have What She’s Having) and Johnny White’s (Pigeons) already and I think they will definitely be worth watching.

Outside of comedy, I’ve already got tickets to see Wild Bore with Zoe Coombs-Marr, Ursula Martinez and Adrienne Truscott, not sure what to expect but I know it’ll be good. Mamoru Iriguchi’s show Eaten at Summerhall, I’ve seen him do some small performances this year and it’s hilarious, silly and sweet and would definitely recommend.

There’s always great programme at Summerhall, I missed James Rowland last year and Sh!t Theatre are always brilliant. FK Alexander’s (I Could Go On Singing) Over The Rainbow is back this year and is beautiful and moving and really LOUD. It’s unlike anything else you’ll see which is nice to do at least once whilst your at the fringe. I’ve never seen them but I’ve heard good things about Action Hero. I’m excited to go and see a new venue that I’ve heard about opening in Leith, my partner is one of the Figs in Wigs and they will be performing there, which means there’s bound to be other brilliant and interesting shows on.

How do you feel to be performing at Pleasance Courtyard?

I feel good, I got the venue I was hoping for. It’s got nice raked seating so I can roll around the floor and everyone will be able to see that, which will be nice. There’s a little added pressure with the bigger venues and you feel a little more like your part of the trade fair but it’s also nice to have chairs and doors and lights and the support that comes with all that.

Who or what are your inspirations?

My family and my partner mainly. There’s a huge list of artists that have inspired me and it’s always being added to. I think some of the biggest obstacles for an artist are the ones that are formed early on by the people closest to you. I’ve always been very lucky in that respect.

What is your secret to surviving the intense, fast pace of the fringe?

I think it’s manageable as long as you’re honest with yourself as to what you want out of it. That and drinking.

What are the future plans for your show?

I don’t know really. I’d like to tour, I haven’t performed much outside of London and Edinburgh so I’d like to go around the country a bit and maybe beyond. I think quietly in the back of my mind I’ve been trying to create a character in a similar vain to Alan Partridge or David Brent. So I have been thinking about film too.

What is the best production you have seen this year – can be any genre, style, in any theatre or performance space?

I’ve been pretty bad this year with seeing things. But I saw two performances at an old coroners court in Ladywell that were great. Figs in Wigs revisited their old show We Object which was funny and clever and as I’ve only seen their more recent work it was interesting to see. And Chris Brett Bailey: This Machine Wont Kill You But It Might get you Laid. Same venue very different performance.

Is there anything else you want to highlight about your show/ theatre company/ production?

I’ve just read through my answers and I’m concerned with how much they sound like they’ve come out of Cayden Hunter‘s mouth.

 

 

Act Natural plays Pleasance Courtyard as part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 from 2 – 27 August 2017. For more information or to book tickets, please visit the website.

