Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Vines

Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Vines

To find out more about Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 and the spotlights, please see the introductory article.


Next up in our Spotlight feature is Vines, which plays Edinburgh Festival from 2 – 28 August 2017. I caught up with writer and actor Alex Critoph:

Describe your show in three words.

Colourful. Melennial. Ayahuasca.

Is this your first Edinburgh Fringe performance experience?

This is my first time taking my own show to The Fringe. We did our previews at Theatre N16 in Balham and the play will change a lot before Edinburgh. I’m looking forward to a longer run of the show, and seeing what people think of it.

I haven’t bought my own show before but I worked as an intern for a great show called The Author by Tim Crouch when it went to Edinburgh after The Royal Court and also on a couple of shows under Tangram Theatre Company for the Fringe. I took WASHED to the Brighton Fringe Festival a while ago.

Who else are you most looking forward to seeing while at the Fringe?

Adam Meggido who taught me at LAMDA is taking an improvised show up called Showstopper. I’m going to see that for sure. It’ll be great. Stiff and Kitsch have two hilarious musical comedies this year which I’m excited for. Loads of stuff. I want to see Nina at the Traverse Theatre.

Who or what are your inspirations?

Lots of people, I think you can take something from every show. I saw a great play recently called An Octoroon which was directed by Ned Bennett, he has a style which is very distinctive and energetic. And playful. Actors like Denise Gough, Kathryn Hunter and Phoebe Waller-Bridge are always inspiring. I just love good stories. I like writers like Debbie Tucker-Green, Polly Stenham and Mark Haddon.

What is your secret to surviving the intense, fast pace of the fringe?

Well, I’ve never taken my own show up before but I’ve heard it’s through copious cigarettes and alcohol.

What are the future plans for your show?

Lisa Cagnacci, the director and I are developing the show for Edinburgh and the aim is for it have have a longer London showing after The Fringe or a Tour. Hopefully it’s something which will keep growing and growing.

What is the best production you have seen this year – can be any genre, style, in any theatre or performance space?

An Octoroon at The Orange Tree Theatre, directed by Ned Bennett.

Is there anything else you want to highlight about your show/ theatre company/ production?

We’re running a blog alongside the show where you can send in responses which will be published to our website. Some people have sent in feedback, some people have sent in poems and dramatic writing centred around feminism and the themes of the play. So if you want to you can submit something on our website.

 

Writer: Alex Critoph

Director: Lisa Cagnacci

Producer: Metal Mouth

Cast: Alex Critoph

Image courtesy of Bessell and McNamee Photography

Vines plays C Venues as part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 from 2 – 28 August 2017. For more information or to book tickets, please visit the website.

Leave a Reply

