Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Dust

Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Dust

To find out more about Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 and the spotlights, please see the introductory article.


Next up in our Spotlight feature is Dust, which plays Edinburgh Festival from 3 – 27 August 2017. I caught up with writer and actor Milly Thomas:

Describe your show in three words.

Honest. Too honest.

Is this your first Edinburgh Fringe performance experience?

I’ve been to the Fringe many, many times as a performer but never with my own work and I’m thrilled to finally come up with my own baby.

Who else are you most looking forward to seeing while at the Fringe?

Ah, I’ve got a whole host of things I’m chomping at the bit to go and see. The superb James Fritz’s Start Swimming, Sarah Milton’s Tumble Tuck, Zoe Cooper’s Jess and Joe Forever, which if you missed it in London is winging its way up to the Traverse Theatre. A whole host of comedians – Pernilla Holland, Jack Rooke and those cheeky boys Late Night Gimp Fight.

How do you feel to be performing at Underbelly Cowgate?

I’m beyond excited. I’ve seen so many amazing shows in the past in the Big Belly and I’ve left that glorious room and gone and sat in the bar with my head spinning from everything I’ve just seen. The idea that this year it’s my turn in there doesn’t feel real yet.

Who or what are your inspirations?

Other playwrights. Often just being around or near Phoebe Éclair-Powell. She’s one of the best humans. Directors. Heated theatre debates. Hearing someone say, ‘that was brilliant’ or ‘I hated that’. That fizzy feeling you get in the pit of your stomach when the lights go down.

What is your secret to surviving the intense, fast pace of the fringe?

Berrocca, prosecco (but not together) and a little scheduled cry.

What are the future plans for your show?

Ooh watch this space…

What is the best production you have seen this year – can be any genre, style, in any theatre or performance space?

I’m currently raving because I saw it a few weeks ago, but An Octoroon at The Orange Tree Theatre absolutely knocked me for six.

Is there anything else you want to highlight about your show/ theatre company/ production?

That it’s going to be intense, but we’re going to have fun. Let’s get cozy with death. Also, if I’m your cup of tea then my other show, Brutal Cessation, is running at Assembly George Square. Come and say hi. Berocca’s on me.

 

Writer: Milly Thomas

Director: Sara Joyce

Producer: Holly De Angelis

Design: Anna Reid (set); May Perryment (sound); Jack Weir (lighting)

Cast: Milly Thomas

Image courtesy of Chloe Wicks

Dust plays Underbelly Cowgate as part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 from 3 – 27 August 2017. For more information or to book tickets, please visit the website.

5 thoughts on “Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Dust

Leave a Reply

