Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Tumble Tuck

Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Tumble Tuck

To find out more about Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 and the spotlights, please see the introductory article.


Next up in our Spotlight feature is Tumble Tuck, which plays Edinburgh Festival from 3 – 27 August 2017. I caught up with writer and actor Sarah Milton:

Describe your show in three words.

Honest, funny and brutal.

Is this your first Edinburgh Fringe performance experience?

We are all extremely excited to be able to take Tumble Tuck to Edinburgh! I’m also a little nervous, but I think that’s because the entire team behind Tumble Tuck cares so much about the show. Daisy’s story resonated brilliantly with everyone at Wilderness Festival with the Old Vic New Voices in August 2016, and its show at the Soho Theatre in October, so I just hope that it will do the same with audiences in Edinburgh. The show is being well looked after by our producer Helena at Back Here! Theatre, and the director, Tom Wright, and I have been with the show since the beginning of its life on the Soho Writer’s Lab in 2015. Together, we have a committed and passionate team who are so invested in Daisy and the play, that it will hopefully be something quite special. 

Who else are you most looking forward to seeing while at the Fringe?

I actually did a bulk buy of some tickets already! Milly Thomas‘ is a part of the Soho Writer’s Alumni Group with me, so both her shows: Dust and Brutal Cessation are musts for me. That girl can write! My friend Maddie Rice is performing the revival of Fleabag – I’ve already secured tickets for because I don’t want to miss it! A play at the Brighton Fringe I saw by the fantastic Alex Packer called Ballistic is playing all month and Richard Gadd‘s phenomenal Monkey See Monkey Do is returning. If you haven’t seen that, you simply have to; it was the highlight of my Edinburgh Fringe 2016.

How do you feel to be performing at Underbelly Cowgate?

Underbelly was our target venue as it suits the style of the show down to the ground. It’s an innovative building that celebrates the actor/writer combination, which includes Tumble Tuck, and is a dominant house on the fringe for new writing. I am thrilled, and they’ve been nothing but supportive to our team so far.

Who or what are your inspirations?

The support I’ve had from staff at The Royal Court’s Young Court team, Old Vic New Voices and the Soho Theatre has been so amazing. All of the writer’s in the Soho Alumni Group this year have been the most incredible network of people too. My mum also, who’s always encouraged me to go for it since I told her I wanted to go to drama school at ten years old.

What is your secret to surviving the intense, fast pace of the fringe?

My plan includes yoga every day, quality sleep, and a good diet whilst up – I’m packing my NutriBullet! I also plan on having the odd day where I don’t see any shows and unwind, getting a couple of sports massages, as Tumble Tuck is quite physical, and regulating my alcohol intake. Also, keeping in touch with family at home.

What are the future plans for your show?

We’d love to take it home to the Soho Theatre in London. The show was born there on its Soho Writer’s Lab in 2014/15 and it would be great to make it a full circle – for both Tumble Tuck and to celebrate the success of The Soho Writer’s Lab. They are a house that truly understands the value of nurturing writers from the very beginning of their journey and it would be a dream to return there after Edinburgh.

What is the best production you have seen this year – can be any genre, style, in any theatre or performance space?

Such a hard question! But it has to be Angels In America at the National Theatre, Part 1 and Part 2. Andrew Garfield‘s performance was out of this world.

 

Writer:  Sarah Milton

Director: Tom Wright

Producer:  Helena Doughty for Backhere! Theatre

Music: Harry Blake

Cast:  Sarah Milton

Image courtesy of Scott Rylander

Tumble Tuck plays Underbelly Cowgate as part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 from 3 – 27 August 2017. For more information or to book tickets, please visit the website.

One thought on “Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: Tumble Tuck

Leave a Reply

