Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: From Ibiza To The Norfolk Broads

Edinburgh Festival Spotlight: From Ibiza To The Norfolk Broads

To find out more about Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 and the spotlights, please see the introductory article.


Next up in our Spotlight feature is From Ibiza To The Norfolk Broads, which plays Edinburgh Festival from 2 – 28 August 2017. I caught up with writer and director Adrian Berry:

Describe your show in three words.

Bowie’s London Adventure

Is this your first Edinburgh Fringe performance experience?

Last year I produced an exciting poptastic teen nostalgic circus extravaganza (Throwback) at the Circus Hub which went down a storm.

Who else are you most looking forward to seeing while at the Fringe?

To be honest I’ve not opened the brochure yet but Sh!t Theatre‘s Dollywould looks great, and I’m excited to see Jarvis Cocker and Chilly Gonzalez Room 29 in the Edinburgh International Festival. I’ve been playing the vinyl nonstop for weeks now.

How do you feel to be performing at Pleasance Courtyard?

Well I personally won’t be doing the actual performing but Alex Walton tells me he is daunted, thrilled and ever so slightly crapping it. I’ve always wanted to have a show at the Pleasance Courtyard though so I feel great about it too.

Who or what are your inspirations?

Audiences, audiences and audiences. I also run a venue (Jacksons Lane) and creating that shared experience’ and seeing work I have created or programmed to thousands of people each year never fails to lift and inspire me.

What is your secret to surviving the intense, fast pace of the fringe?

Regular disco naps.

What are the future plans for your show?

We’ve already performed it 75 times and it’s going on tour again next year but a New York run would be just lovely. David lived there and loved the city, Yeah, that would be just perfect.

What is the best production you have seen this year – can be any genre, style, in any theatre or performance space?

I think it was a crazy acro/ dance/ DJ duo freestyling outdoors in a market square in a tiny Catalan village. I see a lot of outdoor and street performance and cabaret as opposed to ‘straight’ theatre and this was right up my strasse – kind of anarchic and wild. I cannot for the life of me remember their names. I also loved Agrupacion Señor Serrano’s Birdie – intensely technological, visual and political.

Is there anything else you want to highlight about your show/ theatre company/ production?

It’s had 42 reviews – mainly four and five stars – and was critics’ choice in 5 national newspapers. I’m not saying you should pay attention to the critics but….

 

Writer and Director: Adrian Berry

Designer: Andie Scott (set & costume); Alan Boyd (sound)

Cast:  Alex Walton; Rob Newman (voice only)

Image courtesy of Ben Hopper

From Ibiza To The Norfolk Broads plays Pleasance Courtyard as part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2017 from 2 – 28 August 2017. For more information or to book tickets, please visit the website.

Leave a Reply

