Festival 47 Spotlight: Bicycles and Fish

Festival 47 Spotlight: Bicycles and Fish

To find out more about Festival 47 and the spotlights, please see the introductory article.


Next up in our Spotlight feature is Bicycles and Fish, which plays Festival 47 from 13 July 2017 at 18:30. I caught up with writer, director and actor Katie Arnstein:

Describe your show in three words.

Feminist, Funny, Honest.

Tell us a bit more about your production.

Bicycles and Fish is the result of a 20 minute scratch-night piece that I wrote and performed at Redbridge Drama Centre in December which I called A Girl’s Guide to Feminism. The idea of turning it into an hour long piece has been challenging but brilliant. I wanted to write a piece that was honest and entertaining but also highlighted the issues of everyday sexism experienced by women and girls. I also wanted it to be funny, which my mum says it is…

Is this your first time at the King’s Head?

Yes, I am delighted to be showing Bicycles and Fish at the King’s Head. It’s a venue with such a brilliant reputation, I am thrilled that I get to be apart of it.

Who else in the festival programme are you most excited about?

Bridle by Stephanie Martin. I have been lucky enough to have seen Stephanie’s work in the past and I am really looking forward to seeing her new piece.

Who or what are your inspirations to continue making theatre?

I read Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates a couple of years ago and was profoundly moved. Since then I have spoken a lot to men and women about the subject of sexism and feminism and I have been inspired by many of their stories. I am delighted that I have been able to make a show about a subject I believe so strongly in.

I’ve also been inspired by the work of the poet Hollie McNish and thank her for allowing me to use one of her incredible poems in the show. I’m also always inspired by Bruce Springsteen, just because.

What are the future plans for your show?

Bicycles and Fish is performing at Redbridge Drama Centre on 21 July 2017. We are looking to take it to a number of venues both in London and in the Midlands in 2017-2018. I would love to get the show on at the Lichfield Garrick, the theatre I performed at as a child in the Youth Theatre.

What is the best production you have seen this year – can be any genre, style, in any theatre or performance space?

100 Different Words for Love by James Rowland and directed by Daniel Goldman. Both of them are forces of nature and they’ve put together a beautiful show. I saw it at the Vaults Festival earlier in the year and I still smile about it.

Is there anything else you want to highlight about your show?

This is my first show. It would not exist without the kind and generous support of all at Redbridge Drama Centre. Making a one woman show has been a dream come true but also the hardest thing that I have ever had to do creatively. Thank you to every single person who has helped make this show happen.

Writer/ Director/ Actor: Katie Arnstein

Producer: Redbridge Drama Centre

Lighting/ Sound: Andrew Hollingsworth

Bicycles and Fish plays King’s Head Theatre as part of Festival 47 from 13 – 14 July 2017. For more information or to book tickets, please visit the website.

