I blog in your general direction!

So after writing the last blog (despite it being about the most uplifting of musicals Legally Blonde) I felt a touch blue. I know I’m hearing a collective ‘aaah’ arising from you readers so I shall thank you for that and move on. ‘But why?’ I hear you ask (yes I hear voices, psych have been notified). Well I shall tell you for why. It got me thinking about my travelling friends in Australia and how I’d very much like to be exploring the outback myself. So instead I shall blog. Hooray for you guys of course…

So I thought I would remember another happy musical I went to see with them upon a trip down to London again. Once again we attended a rather hilarious musical, hotly anticipated and side splitting. This time I had in fact seen the musical before when it was on tour, but this did not stop me from metaphorically wetting my pants at all the jokes I knew were about to follow. I think that’s the sign of something truly funny, when you know exactly what’s about to happen and you laugh anyway like you’ve never seen it before. What was this musical you say? Well I will tell you (if you haven’t guessed from the clue in the title) but first I give you the original writers behind the hilarious comedic genius that the show is based on – if you’re any of these people, please don’t sue me for using your picture without consent. Thanks terribly.

20130909-224344.jpg
So now you’ve seen the pictures I hope you know I was talking about the incessantly funny Monty Puthon and their musical masterpiece of Spamalot, currently showing at the Playhouse Theatre. Based around the superb film ‘Monty Python and the Holy Grail’ and written for stage by Eric Idle this musical is perfect for those of you that enjoy Python comedy. Now I’m the first to admit that this comedy isn’t for everyone; distinctly British in nature and a bit avant garde even in this category, the jokes are outlandish, off-the-wall and often a touch racist. But you have to love the sheer audacity of the original 6 members to explode onto the British public at the end of the ’60s, a decade renowned for throwing the rule book out the window and embracing new, alternative ideals.

20130909-224847.jpg
The musical itself combines the classic dialogue of the film with some songs very in keeping with the Python’s style. Favourites include the Lady of the Lake as typical musical diva singing the aptly named ‘Whatever Happened to my Part’ as well as the most original ‘The Song that Goes Like This.’ The songs in some small way take a tongue-in-cheek jab at the typical musical songbook – predictable key changes, solo female ballads and rousing chorus numbers are all performed with an attitude of welcomed self-deprication. The cast themselves perform the parts well – I saw Bonnie Langford as the Lady of the Lake and she did a good job of poking fun at herself after making her career in this type of role. Side point, with Summer Strallan recently in Top Hat and Scarlet (her sister and Bonnie’s niece) currently wowing us in A Chorus Line that family is doing rather well!
All in all a great afternoon out with my friends, one who loves Python and the other who doesn’t understand British comedy at all, having grown up in Geneva. Tbh her face was as amusing as some of the Python’s best gags, high praise indeed! Speaking of high praise, Eric Idle’s cameo as God was beautifully welcomed by an enthusiastic fan base of an audience.

Word of the day – chambray. Ooh how very posh!

One thought on “I blog in your general direction!

Comments are closed.