Oh my God, Oh my God you guys!

For this blog I give thanks to a good night of reminiscing with some old friends. I went to Guildford yesterday (nice place, half hr from London, check it out guys!) for one friend’s flatwarming and another’s birthday dinner – love it when things fall into place that nicely!

Over dinner we were talking randomly about some music or other and someone popped onto YouTube (casual plug, they don’t even pay me for that!). I saw her recommended videos and this triggered a faraway memory of an amazing musical I saw 2 years back. So here it is… Disclaimer – for those who fear pink, girliness and fashion, proceed with caution.

20130908-185121.jpg
2 best friends of mine (both currently touring Australia, how dare they leave me behind!) came to London and for a little treat we went to the Savoy Theatre. This place is a strange one for me, established 150 years ago or thereabouts it sits beneath one of London’s most iconic hotels on The Strand. A gorgeous interior but I always feel that you’re descending into the hotel’s basement rather than into an artistic venue and true to underground locations it always seems rather cold (temperature wise, not atmosphere). Definitely wasn’t atmospherically cold on this occasion, as the theatre was home to the pink marshmallow of the musical world, Legally Blonde. Fluffy, gooey and oh so moreish, this sickly sweet musical was over from USA and making quite a splash with 3 Olivier’s under its belt (Best Musical, Best Female lead for Sheridan Smith and Best Female Supporting for Jill Halfpenny). Unfortunately Sheridan and Jill had left when I saw it but Carley Stenson (Hollyoaks own Steph) and Natalie Casey (Hollyoaks and 2 Pints of Lager) filled the empty stilettos admirably.

20130908-185135.jpg
Now the 3 of us seeing this were a touch overexcited, being avid fans of the film. What we experienced was a HILARIOUS, overly-pink show filled to the brim with camp ‘American’isms, outrageous dance moves (Bend and Snap anyone?!) and some casual law terminology (Objection! May I Approach?). Oh and the songs, they are something else! ‘Oh my God’, ‘Gay or European’ and ‘Ireland’ all feature prominently in this masterpiece of feminist empowerment hidden beneath a shallow exterior of hairstyles, hench delivery men and sorority sisters forever. If you want a good laugh with a musical that doesn’t take itself seriously, this is your bag. So throw away the sophisticated gin and tonic one might order at the theatre, get a good old Sex on the Beach and embrace the madness!

Word of the day – salacious. Rolls off the tongue doesn’t it?

One thought on “Oh my God, Oh my God you guys!

Comments are closed.